Bangkok- Day 4 Marketing

On Day 4, I visited 3 markets! Yes, 3! U wondered where did my energy come from? Haha.

I found out about the “Thai airway” market aka lung perm market. It’s a market that caters to mainly locals and situated somewhere behind the Thai Airway building and how the name came from. To get to the market, I took the MRT to Phahol Yothin station, a station before Chatuchak station, took exit
5 then took a short cab ride to the market. Soi 22 is before Thai airway building, so watch out for it!

20130108-194533.jpg

20130108-194541.jpg
I spent 3,4 hrs there leisurely including lunch. Let’s talk about lunch first. There’s a small food center as part of the market. All the food looked pretty good. I ordered a pig trotter and intestine(!) rice which was very good. The pig trotter was well seasoned but not overly and it just melts in the mouth! The intestine is something I seldom eat back home, so i just gotta try it and it was well prepared. No porky smell about it. Thumbs up.

20130108-194710.jpg

20130108-194717.jpg

The market is quite small but there are interesting shops in it. Comfy looking shoes that also look well made for 250B. There’s a corner shop called Bam Bam at soi 7 (see photo) that sells children clothes from factory over runs. The market is not crowded so it’s a respite from the crowd at Chatuchak market.

20130108-194703.jpg
I was planning to head back to hotel to rest and skipped Chatuchak crowd. Took a cab to go to the MRT but the driver sent me to Chatuchak which was a stone throw away! Cab far was about 60B.

What I like about Chatuchak is a actually the neighbouring market, JJ market which sells mostly household items, like paintings, aromatherapy stuff and housewares. At JJ it is less crowded and less hot.

The last market that I visited was Suan Lum night bazaar. Wait?! What?! I was there and then only discovered that it has closed down for over a year. Big sigh. I have checked with the hotel and MRT staff but none told me that it was closed. Sad… Not. Then I visited Central Chitlom and had one of my fave food there, tom yum river prawn with vermicelli! Yums! It’s a dish that I have to eat each time I’m in BKK. So from 85B… And now the price at 160B. The global inflation is bad!

I had visited another market the next night, but that’s for another post. 😉

Leave a Reply

