Burdock

I was reading this recipe book on Macrobiotic eating and one of the ingredients featured is Burdock (牛蒡). Noted that it has blood cleansing properties, I decided to give it a try because Alex eats mostly the same type of fish, Threadfin for his source of animal-based protein. I must say I don’t have much knowledge on medical properties of food ingredients, hence reading up as I go along.

For cooking, I added burdock into the soup base which I cooked. The root can be stored for 2-3 weeks in fridge, so I’ll keep aside what I don’t use for the next time.

Use of Burdock (from Naturalherbalguide)

Burdock root has often been used to purify the blood by removing toxins that can build up in blood. It can be taken orally or used topically as a remedy for skin disorders. Also, burdock root can be a diuretic or soothe aching joints. Traditional Chinese healers used burdock root in combination with other plants to make cures for colds, measles, throat pain, and tonsillitis.

Medical properties (from 百度百科)

牛蒡的纤维可以促进大肠蠕动,帮助排便,降低体内胆固醇,减少毒素、废物在体内积存,达到预防 中风和防治胃癌、子宫癌的功效。西医认为它除了具有利尿、消积、祛痰止泄等药理作用外,还用于便秘、高血压、高胆固醇症的食疗。中医认为有疏风散热、宣肺 透疹、解毒利咽等功效。可用于风热感冒、咳嗽痰多、麻疹风疹、咽喉肿痛。

Leave a Reply

