Homemade organic yogurt

I did my first 2 batches of organic yogurt recently and the result were rather pleasing.

I made my first batch using EasiYo Bio-life organic yogurt base. It requires a set of container which I loaned from MIL but the containers can be easily store bought. Another key ingredient is… water. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Follow the fool-proof instruction on the sachet and there you have your first yogurt. I reckon the container is good for cold countries, because the inner container with the culture and water is encapsulated with an outer container half filled with hot water. The hot water ensures the bacteria can continue to thrive. The only thing was I left the yogurt to mature for 13 hrs and the end result was more sour than the commercial plain yogurt.

Then it happened that I bought some organic milk and I decided to use the left-over (about to expire) to make my second batch of yogurt. I checked with my friend, June on how to make it. ๐Ÿ™‚ For the yogurt starter, if you don’t already have some yogurt at home, get a small tub of the plain old version from the store.

What I used:

  • 1 container- I use a glass container. You can use any container that can withstand sterilisation.
  • 500ml organic whole milk
  • 1-2 tbspn of organic yogurt as a starter
  • 1 small saucepan

Steps:

  1. Sterilise the container with hot boiled water. The lid was plastic and didn’t look it can withstand hot water so I didn’t sterilise it. I later used a clean plastic bag to place over the opening, then secured the bag in place with a rubber band before putting the lid back on.
  2. Heat up the milk in the saucepan on a stove top till you can see some smoke, yet no bubbles in the milk.
  3. Pour the milk into the container and let it cool down to room temperature.
  4. Add in the yogurt, stir, put on the lid (see #1) and leave it for eight hours.
  5. Store in fridge immediately and also to stop the process.

You can leave it longer for the yogourt base to work its worth, but for our consumption, the level of sourness is enough. The yougurt is also quite watery which suits me just fine.

2 responses to “Homemade organic yogurt

  1. Try adding more starter, that might make the yogurt thicker.

Leave a Reply

