Oven roasted pork n’ vegies

I made a simple roast pork dish for lunch yesterday. It’s not possible to cook elaborate meals with an active baby, so preparation time is required beforehand. I marinated the pork, wrapped up in cling wrap and left in the chiller overnight.

The dish was nice for a first attempt. The roasted carrot and onion were so sweet! Love it! I shared the roasted vegies with Alex, and I made some pan-friend salmon with cheesy sauce for him as I worried the salt I added to the pork is too salty for him. Turned out the cheese is quite salty too. Haha. I think he quite liked the new food though. Then the remaining strip was hb’s breakfast with homemade bread today. He totally loved it too. 🙂

When I make this the next time, I have to improve on my onion and a shorter time in the oven .

Roastpork2

Ingredients

  • 2 stripes of pork with some fat on it (I told the butcher I was going to make char siew)
  • 1 carrot
  • 4 small potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • Italian herbs (McCormick)
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • Coarse black pepper

Method

  1. Marinate the pork with olive oil, sea salt, black  pepper and Italian herb. Make sure the seasoning form a thin layer on the pork. Leave it in the chiller overnight.
  2. Processed the potato, carrots and onion. Cut into chunks or strips.
  3. Coat roasting pan with some olive oil.
  4. Lay the vegies on the roasting pan. Drizzle generous amount of olive oil on it. Season with salt and/or pepper.  I left out pepper and used less salt as my baby will be eating it.
  5. Place the pork strips on the vegies. Rub more olive oil on it.
  6. Bake at 190c for 45mins-1hr depending on the cut.  For bigger cuttings, use a meat thermometer to gauge whether the meat is cooked. Pork can’t be eaten rare.
Leave a Reply

