My lunch yesterday

I’m going to spare my readers of boring details of my daily life… Yes, it’s true, a sahm’s life is pretty mundane and boring. :O However I am so pleased with the lunch I cooked myself yesterday and it looked so good in the photos too!

This recipe is inspired by a recipe in Jamie Oliver’s Ministry of Food. Love the show. I love how he worked to change a city of its eating habits.  Can somebody get me the book please? 😉 What I do with my lunch was to use the limited ingredients I have on hand. Chicken breast and asparagus. My choice of carb would have been potatoes, except that I was too famished and had to cook something fast and I ended up with instant noodles. Not good for my expanding waistline. Everything was prepared and cook under 20minutes. The dish also cost me abt $4. Pretty awesome, I say.

Chicken breast dish

Pan fried chicken breast with asparagus

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken breast, skin and fat removed
  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 egg
  • Salt
  • Coarse black pepper
  • Sesame oil
  • Cooking wine
  • Canola oil

Method

  1. Marinate the chicken breast with sesame oil, salt and black pepper
  2. Boil some water in a small pot
  3. Heat up a frying pan and add cooking oil
  4. Slide the chicken breast and fry till u see the bottom half are cooked (about 5-7 mins), then flip it over
  5. Switch off the pot, crack in the egg and start to poach. How to poach an egg.
  6. Add in the asparagus into the frying pan and stir-fry it
  7. Add in the cooking wine. Flip the meat and stir-fry the veg.
  8. Season the veg with some salt and pepper

Last step: Tuck in! 😀

Leave a Reply

