Pork and chicken stock

I make stock for Alex to add into his meals. Stock definitely enhances the flavour and provides more nutrient. However making stock and stashing them away can take up a whole day. Other than pressure cooking, is there any short cut method?

The ingredients I used in the stock are more or less the same. My staples are meat bones, carrots, corns and onions. The rest I pretty much alternate each time I make one batch.

Here is the batch I made yesterday. I think I will use kampong chicken carcass the next time, coz I find the stock has more fat rather than the times I used spare ribs or fish bones. Will love to know how you prepare your stock too.

Ingredients:

  1. Spare ribs, 1/2 kg
  2. 1 chicken carcass
  3. White carrot, 1
  4. Carrots, 2
  5. Zucchini, 1
  6. Celery, 4 stalks
  7. Corn, 2 (from Cameron highlands)
  8. Onion, 3
  9. Garlic, a handful
  10. Ginger, thumb size

Stock1Stock2Stock3Method:

  1. Scald the bones
  2. Wash and cut up the rest of the ingredients
  3. Add in water till abt 90% full
  4. Bring to boil and lower the fire
  5. Simmer for 2-3 hrs
  6. Let the pot cool. Pour into glass bottles and store in freezer
3 responses to “Pork and chicken stock

  1. Yum, camermon highlands sweet corns are super yummy.

    Where did you buy them from? Or someone brought it back for you?

Leave a Reply

